There is something unique about the character of the Hong Kong Sevens that makes it different from other international rugby competitions. Visit The Fiji Village Sports 1998 Hong Kong Sevens Centre for the current exploits of Fiji World Champion 7s team! Congratulations to Fiji, 1998 Hong Kong Sevens Champions! They are currently contesting the first Commonwealth Games Gold medal in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

The rugby fans love it, most top international rugby writers would boast about having covered the Hong Kong Sevens without missing a year, and those who have retired reminisce over it for years when the great rugby competitions are compared over a can or two.

Fiji has been involved in the Hong Kong 7s from the very start when, on March 28, 1976 a ball spun into the air above Football Ground at Happy Valley in Hong Kong – and history was made. From the first 12 teams to grace the Football Ground, the tournament has grown to become a significant annual event on the rugby union calendar. In Hong Kong, the Sevens tradition became so popular that after six tournaments, it was shifted to the Government Stadium at So Kon Po in 1982. Since then, that stadium has been renovated to seat over 40,000.

Fiji won the finals in 1977, 1978, 1980, 1984, 1990, 1991 and 1992. With a four year lapse leading up to the 1997 World Cup, the Fiji team dedicated itself to months of unpublicised mental, physical and spiritual preparation. the months of preparation paid off when the Fijians defeated the strong, almost formidable South African side in the final to bring home the Melrose Cup. It was bewildering to watch a triumph of artistry.

The magical Waisale Serevi first played in Hong Kong in 1989 and has never missed a year since. He captured Hong Kong by surprise and the rugby world has been fascinated by the Gau man ever since. He won the Player of the Tournament in 1989 and 1990, and now for a record 3rd time in 1998. The playmaker currently with Leicester Club in England, is the first player depicted in the set to the right.




Aminiasi Naituyaga
Inoke Maraiwai
Jope Tuikabe
Lemeki Koroi
Leveni Duvuduvukula
Luke Erenavula
Manasa Bari
Marika Vunibaka
Rugby Team
Taniela Qauqau
Waisale Serevi

Diamond Jubilee of Fiji Rugby Union