Order (Orders)

Animal Taxonomy Pyramid Diagram

Each class is divided into small groups again, known as orders. There is no universally accepted breakdown for the class Mammalia. Some outline as many as 26 different orders for the class Mammalia. Some of the most popular examples include:

  1. Artiodactyla (even-toed hoofed animals) – Examples include moose, camels, and giraffes
  2. Carnivora – Animals that specialize in mostly eating meat, but also contain some omnivores and herbivores. Characterized as having nonretractable claws and long snouts. Examples include bears.
  3. Rodentia (gnawing mammals) – Examples include beavers, mice, and squirrels
  4. Chiropptera (bats) – The only mammals that can fly. Examples include free-tailed and vampire bats
  5. Cetacea (porpoises and whales) – Examples include killer whales, dolphins, and hump-backed whales
  6. Primates – Includes prehensile hands and feet, commonly with opposable thumbs. Examples include gorillas, chimpanzees, and humans.


  • Austin, S. (2023, January 30). Classification of Animals: The Complete Guide. A-Z-Animals. Retrieved September 25, 2023, from Link
  • Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc. (2023). Animal Taxonomy [Photograph]. Britannica. Link

Additional Sources of Information

  • NatureFiji-MareqetiViti is Fiji’s only domestic NGO working solely for the conservation and sustainable management of Fiji’s unique natural heritage – Link


Sponsored Advertisement
Sponsored Advertisement